Desert Uplands>

Blueprint For The Bush Weed Project

Blueprint 1185838617.jpgIn 2006 the Desert Uplands Committee (DUC) was successful in obtaining $440,000 for weed control across the seven Shires in the Desert Uplands Bioregion. Blueprint for the Bush weed project is part of the Queensland Government's Blueprint for the Bush, a 10-year plan to build a sustainable, liveable and prosperous rural Queensland.

The proposal put to Government was to utilise the Rural Lands Officers (RLOs) employed by the Shire Councils to organise the weed control measures.  These are the people who know the strategic areas that need to be treated.  The idea of this was to use already available resources and not employ a Project Officer from DUC.  This allows more dollars to reach on ground activity.

All seven Shire Councils contributed to, and supported the project.  They will supply the RLO, car and internal administration costs for the project. The Shire Councils will be able to use 30% of their allocated funding on stock routes and town commons in the Desert Uplands Region and the remainder will go to landholders. The RLOs will contact landholders, organise spraying contractors and monitor progress of the work undertaken whilst the landholders will supply chemical and diesel. 

There will be a Management Agreement with landholders committing them to continuing treatment after the completion of funding. Landholders will also be responsible for filling in a diary to follow the progress of the treatments and have before, during of and after photos taken at the same GPS location. This will allow concise reporting to Government and also assist the mapping of weeds on properties if landholders are willing to mark on their property map the location of any known weeds.

Each Council will receive an equal amount of the funding and the project runs for two (2) years. The two Regional Bodies, Desert Channels Queensland and Burdekin Dry Tropics NRM both supported and contributed financially to the project.  Letters of support were also supplied by Central Highlands Natural Resource Management Group, Aramac Landcare Group, Rural Lands Officers, Natural Resources and Water, Emerald and Blackall.  -Our thanks to all who contributed and supported the project.

The seven shires are Blackall, Barcaldine, Jericho, Aramac, Flinders, Dalrymple and Belyando.