Desert Uplands>

Regional Bodies

Regional Bodies:

The Desert Uplands Bioregion lies over two major catchments that almost split the region in half, north-south. The two regional bodies that represent these catchments are the NQ Dry Tropics to the east and Desert Channels Queensland Inc. on the western side. Southern Gulf NRM also cover the North west corner of the Desert Uplands region.


DCQ Logo 1184119772.jpgDesert Channels Queensland

Desert Channels Queensland (DCQ) is a community group, funded by the Federal and State governments.  DCQ's region covers a third of Queensland from Torrens Creek to Birdsville and Tambo to Camooweal.

Desert Channels Queensland is run by a dedicated group of community representatives who draw on experience in primary production, local government, Great Artesian Basin, Aboriginal issues and conservation.

DCQ is all about building partnerships in the community to help sustainably manage the region's natural resources for the future.

It does this through:

DCQ works closely with its internal implementation groups, the Georgina Diamantina Catchment Committee and the Cooper's Creek Catchment Committee and the cross-regional implementation group, Desert Uplands Committee to tackle issues such as weeds, feral animals, water management, land degradation, biodiversity conservation, Indigenous cultural heritage, spring and wetland management, and community capacity building.

DCQ is principally funded through the Australian Government's Natural Heritage Trust.  It also receives funding from the State both in cash and in-kind.

For more information about Desert Channels Queensland see their website;


NQDry TropicsNQ Dry Tropics logo_1245125815.jpg

NQ Dry Tropics  is a community based, not-for-profit company established in 2002 to deliver on-ground Natural Resource Management (NRM) and enhance the community's involvement in those activities throughout the Burdekin Region.                                                     

The NQ Dry Tropics Region is one of six National Action Plan for Salinity and Water Quality and one of fifteen Natural Heritage Trust regions in Queensland. Located in north east Queensland and covering an area of 133,432 square km the NQ Dry Tropics Region accounts for approximately 8% of the State. The region extends into marine waters and includes Magnetic Island and the Palm Island Group.

The region is highly diverse in both land-type and land-use with a large agricultural, mining and industrial base. It encompasses the Burdekin and Belyando-Suttor catchments and has three main bioregions (Einsasleigh Uplands, Brigalow Belt and the Wet Tropics). Major population centres in the region include Townsville-Thuringowa, Ayr, Bowen and Charters Towers. There are 11 Local Government Authorities in the region. Ninety percent of the approximately 190, 000 people living in the region reside in Townsville-Thuringowa.

 In addition to our long and close relationship with Desert Uplands, NQ Dry Tropics has formalised strategic partnerships with other community NRM groups including Dalrymple Landcare Committee, Central highlands Regional Resource Use Planning Cooperative Ltd. and Conservation Volunteers Australia.  .  

For more information about BDTNRM and our activities in the region visit our website at